top of page

State Conventions +
Federation Council +

Executive Board +
Grievance Commission

The Texas College Democrats are governed by four distinct entities, each with their own powers and responsibilities as prescribed by the Bylaws.

State Conventions. Every year in the Spring, college Democrats from across the Great State of Texas gather for the State Convention, the highest governing authority of our Federation. Chapters send delegates to the State Convention to elect new officers, among other things. 

Federation Council. The Council of the Federation ("the Council" for short) is the highest governing authority of our Federation between State Conventions. Each chartered chapter is represented by its president and each identity caucus by its chair. The Council is presided over by the President, assisted by the President Pro Tempore and Secretary.

Executive Board. The Executive Board ("the Board" for short) has general supervision over the Federation and is composed of all Elected Officers. The Board is presided over by the President.

Grievance Commission. A Grievance Commission is an independent investigative body used to resolve internal disputes that may arise among members of the Federation. Grievance Commissions are composed of officers of chartered chapters and impaneled when grievances are filed.

Past Presidents


J.J. Martinez of The University of Texas at El Paso


Joe Cascino of The University of Texas at Austin


Gabrielle Harris of Stephen F. Austin State University


Catherine Wicker of Texas State University


Breton Hawkins of The University of Texas at Austin

bottom of page